El Adoua 10 Hafidi 82

South Africa


Mahlangu 71 Sangweni 86
KO: 27/01/2013 - 17:00 | Venue: Moses Mabhida Stadium
Igesund: Pleased as punch

Igesund: Pleased as punch

South Africa went through to the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations quarter-finals as Group A winners as they carved out a 2-2 draw against Morocco, whose tournament came to an end.


Predict result and win big with Soccer6


Issam El Adoua had opened the scoring for the Lions of the Atlas, only for May Mahlangu to level matters midway through the second-half.

Abdelilah Hafidi thought he had secured his side's progression to the next round with his 82nd minute strike, but Siyabonga Sangweni restored parity with three minutes remaining to send the host nation through, along with Cape Verde, who beat Angola 2-1 in the night's other match.

The Atlas Lions began the game the stronger of the two sides, with Youseff Kaddioui dragging a long-range shot just wide before Itumeleng Khune needed to come off his line in a flash to close down the run of Youssef El-Arabi to just get a vital glove on the striker's attempted chip from the edge of the area.

Just 10 minutes into the game and the Moroccans took the lead, Khune failing to deal with a routine corner to allow Issam El Adoua to get there first, heading down into the ground and in off the underside of the crossbar.

Morocco continued to dominate the chances as El Adoua came close to a second midway through the half but could only head just wide of the up-right following back-to-back corners.

Bafana had a great chance to level matters after 36 minutes as they broke in a flowing counter-attack, but Tokelo Rantie took far too many touches instead of finding a team-mate and could only win his side a corner, which Morocco dealt with easily.

Khune was again called on to make a vital save after coming a whole 40 yards off his line to intercept the ball just ahead of El-Arabi, who had been played clean-through on goal.

Morocco looked to have won themselves a penalty just seconds after the restart as Tsepo Masilela appeared to bring down Abdelaziz Barrada inside the area, but the referee didn't even budge as he allowed play to go on.

Thusa Phala almost pulled the sides level with a fantastic free-kick, but Nadir Lamyaghri produced a sublime one-handed save to keep the ball from finding the very top corner of the goal.

Khune continued to be the only thing standing between Bafana and a heavy defeat, with the keeper again finding himself in a one-on-one situation, but once more he came up with the goods as he just got a glove on El-Arabi's shot.

Morocco were soon made to pay for those misses as Mahlangu worked a nice one-two with Rantie to set himself up acres of shooting space, and he picked out a sumptuous curling effort which left the keeper no chance before nestling in the top corner of the net.

With eight minutes remaining the Lions thought they had secured their progression to the last-eight, substitute Abdelilah Hafidi putting the ball into the bottom corner of the net after controlling well with his chest in the area.

However, just moments later Bafana once more levelled matters in what was a carbon copy of their first, Siyabonga Sangweni being fed the ball on the edge of the area before holding up play and curling a stunning effort into the same corner Mahlangu had found only minutes earlier.

The result put South Africa through to the last-eight as Group A winners, joined by runners-up Cape Verde following their last-gasp winner against Angola.


  1 Lamyaghri
  24 Kantari
  21 El Kaoutari
  2 Achchakir
  17 Benatia
  16 El Adoua
yellow card 10 Belghazouani sub ** (63)
yellow card 25 Chafni
  13 Kaddioui sub * (53)
  7 Barrada sub *** (75)
  9 El Arabi

On The Bench

  22 Askri
  12 Zniti
  21 Bergdich sub **
  2 Noussir
  8 El Ahmadi
  6 Hermach
  90 Belhanda
  9 El Hamdaoui sub ***
yellow card 23 Hafidi sub *
  53 Amrabat
  20 Hamdallah
  11 Assaidi

S. Africa

  32 Khune
  14 Khumalo
yellow card 16 Ngcongca
  17 Masilela
  21 Sangweni
  21 Phala
  4 Furman
  9 Mphela sub * (51)
  29 Rantie
  6 Mahlangu sub *** (91)
yellow card 14 Parker sub ** (76)

On The Bench

  40 Sandilands
  1 Meyiwa
  37 Nthethe
  2 Gaxa
  30 Matlaba
  14 Tshabalala
  8 Dikgacoi sub ***
  6 Letsholonyane sub **
  20 Manyisa
  25 Serero sub *
  6 Chabangu
  20 Majoro
Copyright TEAMtalk Media Group 2014     Pictures from Getty Images, Backpagepix and Gallo